Frontier Developments’ Planet Zoo Beta Roars Into Action

Frontier Developments plc (AIM: FDEV) today released the Planet Zoo beta into the wild, featuring access to the brand-new Career mode and the online supported Franchise mode. The beta is available for those who pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition, with the full release on 5 November and is expected to run from 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT on 24 September to 5pm BST / 6pm CEST / 9am PDT on 8 October.

Ahead of the full launch on 5 November, the Planet Zoo beta will teach budding keepers how to make their dream zoo a reality, guiding them through everything from habitat design to animal welfare. Featuring Career and Franchise modes, players will visit two locations and learn to care for over 30 animals.

Planet Zoo’s beta begins with the new narrative-driven Career mode that sees players begin their journey in the Temperate Biome as they learn to manage and expand an existing zoo, building habitats, adopting animals and tackling a range of Bronze, Silver and Gold objectives. Franchise mode visits the Savannah biome for a deeper simulation with an open sandbox map and the full economy, as well as online connectivity with the Planet Zoo community. 

The beta will feature a Community Goal that will be announced soon. To see the Planet Zoo beta trailer, go here.

The Planet Zoo beta will feature a range of wildlife from around the world across both modes, including the West African Lion, Reticulated Giraffe, Bengal Tiger, Snow Leopard and Galapagos Giant Tortoise, with over 30 animals total, each with unique traits and personalities.  

Planet Zoo launches 5 November 2019 and is available to pre-order now for £34.99 (€44.99, $44.99). Planet Zoo Deluxe Edition is available to pre-order now for £42.99 (€54.99, $54.99). Both are available on the Steam online store. Planet Zoo Deluxe Edition includes the Planet Zoo game plus bonus content, including

  • Beta access.
  • Three exclusive animals.
  • High-quality wallpapers.
  • Original Soundtrack.

Players who pre-order the Deluxe Edition can join the Planet Zoo Beta from now until 8 October, and add the Komodo Dragon, Pygmy Hippopotamus, and Thomson’s Gazelle to their zoos at launch.

Follow Planet Zoo on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube. Visit the Planet Zoo website at PlanetZooGame.com. For media assets, visit Frontier.co.uk/Media.